EVIL Wins New Japan Cup, Joins Bullet Club

>> Click Here To Bet On Pro Wrestling and More! <<

EVIL Wins New Japan Cup, Joins Bullet Club

EVIL defeated Kazuchika Okada on Saturday to win the 2020 New Japan Cup, at NJPW’s first show with a crowd since late-February. Even more shocking than toppling the Rainmaker, was how EVIL won the match. With the referee down, Bullet Club’s Yujiro Takahashi & Gedo attacked Okada. Okada recovered, only to be struck in the groin by EVIL a few moments later, leading to the victory.

After the match, IWGP Heavyweight & IWGP Intercontinental Heavyweight Champion Tetsuya Naito came to the ring to fist bump his Los Ingobernables de Japon stablemate and Dominion opponent. EVIL responded with the Bullet Club Too Sweet hand sign. Suddenly Gedo, Yujiro Takahashi, Jado, Taiji Ishimori and EVIL all attacked Naito. LIJ made the save, but the damage had been done. EVIL has joined Bullet Club.

戦慄…! オカダに“無法勝利”のEVILが『NEW JAPAN CUP』初優勝!

試合後、なんと内藤を裏切って、BULLET CLUBへ電撃加入!!

https://t.co/YJ7YwBfpT5#njcup #njpw pic.twitter.com/cSs4wN629D

— 新日本プロレスリング株式会社 (@njpw1972) July 11, 2020

The move is a brutal blow to Los Ingobernables de Japon, as EVIL was the first member of the faction to team up with leader Tetsuya Naito, leading to the formation of the group. Now EVIL is set to face Naito for both of his title belts.

Here are the full results from the New Japan Cup 2020 finals. The whole show is available at NJPWWorld.com.

  • Great Bash Heel (Togi Makabe & Tomoaki Honma) def. Yota Tsuji & Yuya Uemura by pinfall. (9:25)
    Togi Makabe pinned Yuya Uemura via German Suplex.
  • Ten-Cozy (Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Satoshi Kojima) def. Hirooki Goto & Gabriel Kidd by pinfall. (9:57)
    Satoshi Kojima pinned Gabriel Kidd via Lariat.
  • Master Wato def. Douki by pinfall via Corkscrew Senton. (7:46)
    After the match, Yoshinobu Kanemaru attacked Wato, but was run off by Hiroyoshi Tenzan.
  • Bullet Club (Taiji Ishimori & Yujiro Takahashi) def. Los Ingobernables de Japon (SANADA & BUSHI) by pinfall. (9:20)
    Yujiro Takahashi pinned BUSHI via Pimp Juice.
  • Suzuki-gun (Taichi, Zack Sabre Jr., El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru) def. Hiroshi Tanahashi, Kota Ibushi, Ryusuke Taguchi & Yuji Nagata) by pinfall. (12:45)
    El Desperado pinned Ryusuke Taguchi via Pinche Loco.
  • Los Ingobernables de Japon (Tetsuya Naito, Shingo Takagi & Hiromu Takahashi) def. Chaos (Tomohiro Ishii, Sho & Toru Yano) by pinfall (15:01)
    Tetsuya Naito pinned Toru Yano via Pumping Bomber from Shingo Takagi
  • New Japan Cup Final: EVIL def. Kazuchika Okada by pinfall via EVIL. (31:50)